Sunday, 19 April 2015
Up-to-the-minute perspectives on defence, security and peace
issues from and for policy makers and opinion leaders.

     |      View our Twitter page at     |     


Gp Capt J J Stringer to be promoted Air Cdre and be CoS HQ Air Command, succeeding Air Cdre S J Shell OBE in July

History doesn't repeat itself but it sure does rhyme.' -Mark Twain

The British Army has recently launched a recruitment campaign aimed primarily at attracting new personnel into the Army Reserves. Designed to highlight the many roles that Reservists can play in uniform and opportunities for both professional and personal development, the 'Normal Days' campaign is the latest in a series of military recruitment drives. Over the last two years, the Army has launched several such high profile campaigns, writes Meghan Fitzpatrick. The current advertising blitz has cost roughly £7 million. The efforts have gone largely unrewarded. According to recruitment figures, 'last year the Army only managed to increase the total strength of the reserves by 20—it was also more than 3,000 soldiers short of its recruitment goal for full time soldiers.'

139 members of the armed forces and 1 civilian have been named in the latest Operational Honours and Awards List, which recognises service on operations in Afghanistan and national operations for the period October 2013 to June 2014. This distinguished group is led by :

AFGHANISTANLance Corporal Josh Leakey
Victoria Cross
Lance Corporal Joshua LEAKEY, The Parachute Regiment

The citation for this highest award for gallantry is in the next post, and the other 138 awards are listed on the next page.

More Articles...

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Defence Viewpoints website. However, if you would like to, you can modify your browser so that it notifies you when cookies are sent to it or you can refuse cookies altogether. You can also delete cookies that have already been set. You may wish to visit which contains comprehensive information on how to do this on a wide variety of desktop browsers. Please note that you will lose some features and functionality on this website if you choose to disable cookies. For example, you may not be able to link into our Twitter feed, which gives up to the minute perspectives on defence and security matters.